DEPARTMENT DIRECTORY

  

Dr. Randy R. Appleton
Professor
NSF 1131
Phone: (906) 227-1593
E-Mail: rappleto@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1996

Faculty Web Site

B.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; M.S., Ph.D., University of Kentucky.
 

Dr. Carol J. Bell
Professor
NSF 1113
Phone: (906) 227-1603
E-Mail: cbell@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2007

Dr. Bell recipient of 2010-11 Technology Innovation Award

 

M.S., University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana; Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin.
 
 

 Dr. David A. Buhl
 Professor
 1117 New Science Facility
 Phone: (906) 227-2089
 E-mail: dbuhl@nmu.edu
 Joined NMU in 1998

 

 

B.A., Augustana College; M.A., University of South Dakota; Ed.D., Montana State University.
 

Dr. Don H. Faust
Professor
NSF 3015
Phone: (906) 227-1599
E-Mail: dfaust@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1979

Web site

B.A., State University of New York at Oswego; M.A. University of Kansas; Ph.D., University of Hawaii.
 

Ms. Kristi L. Harvala
Administrative Assistant to the Department Head
NSF 1001
Phone: (906) 227-1589
E-Mail: kharvala@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2002

 

Ms. Gwendolyn K. Hetler
Assistant Professor
NSF 1308
Phone: (906) 227-1608
E-Mail: ghetler@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1987

B.A., Albion College; M.S., Wayne State University.
 

Dr. Olga J. Hocking
Assistant Professor
NSF 1009
Phone: (906) 227-2558
E-Mail: opendlet@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2011

.B.S. University of South Alabama, M.S. and Ph.D. Emory University
 

Dr. Jeffrey Horn
Associate Professor
NSF 1119
Phone: (906) 227-1607
E-Mail: jhorn@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1996

Faculty Web Site

B.A., Cornell University of Ithaca, New York; M.S., Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
 

 Dr. Peggy A. House
 Professor
 NSF 1123
 Phone: (906) 227-2063
 E-Mail: phouse@nmu.edu
 Joined NMU in 1993

 Dr. House honored by Zonta Club of Marquette

B.A., Alverno College; M.S., Ph.D., Kansas State University.
 

Dr. Michael R. Kowalczyk
Assistant Professor
NSF 1127
Phone: (906) 227-1600
E-Mail:   mkowalcz@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2008

Faculty Web Site

B.S. Northern Michigan University; M.S., M.A., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison. 
 

Dr. Linda B. Lawton
Associate Professor
NSF 1107
Phone: (906) 227-1584
E-Mail:  llawton@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2011

B.M. Baylor University; M.S. and Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
 

Ms. Kristi M. McClure
Principal Secretary
NSF 1001
Phone: (906) 227-2020
E-Mail:  kmcclure@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2005

 

Dr. J. D. Phillips
Department Head and Professor
NSF 1001A
Phone: (906) 227-2020
E-Mail: jophilli@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2009

Faculty Web Site

B.S., Briar Cliff College; Ph.D., Iowa State University.
 

Dr. Andrew A. Poe
Professor
NSF 1129
Phone: (906) 227-1598
E-Mail: apoe@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1999

Faculty Web Site

 

B.A., Cornell University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Michigan.
 

Mr. John W. Sarkela
Instructor
NSF 1109
Phone: (906) 227-1597
E-Mail: jsarkela@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2010

A.B., Bowdoin College; M.S., University of Illinois at Champaign
 

Dr. Terrance L. Seethoff
Professor
NSF 3011
Phone: (906) 227-2044
E-Mail: tseethof@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1969

 

B.A., M.S., Ph.D., Oregon State University.
 

Dr. Stephen P. Smith
Associate Professor
NSF 1304
Phone: (906) 227-1594
E-Mail: stepsmit@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2001

 

B.A., Northern Michigan University; M.S., Ph.D., Michigan State University.
 

Dr. Joshua J. Thompson
Assistant Professor
NSF 1115
Phone: (906) 227-1609
E-Mail: joshthom@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2012

Faculty Web site

B.A., Wofford College; M.A., Wake Forest University; Ph.D., University of Utah.
 

Dr. Bao Q. Truong
Assistant Professor
NSF 1135
Phone: (906) 227-1610
E-Mail: btruong@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2008

Faculty Web Site

B.S. Ho Chi Minh City University of Natural Sciences; Ph.D. Wayne State University.
 

Dr. G. Jailan Zalmai
Professor
NSF 1121
Phone: (906) 227-1601
E-Mail: gzalmai@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1988

B.I.E. (Honors), M.S.O.R., M.S. (E.E.), Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology; M.A., Ph.D., Washington State University.
 

Dr. Qinghong Zhang
Professor
NSF 1133
Phone: (906) 227-1511
E-Mail: qzhang@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 2003

 

B.S., Nanjing Normal University; M.S., Nankai University; Master of Computer Science and Ph.D., University of Iowa.
 

Dr. Roxin Zhang
Professor
NSF 3013
Phone: (906) 227-1596
E-Mail: rzhang@nmu.edu
Joined NMU in 1991

 

B.A., Lanzhou University; Ph.D., University of Washington.
Home
Faculty Positions
Adjunct Faculty
Emeritus Faculty
Visiting Faculty
Office Hours